Fushimi Inari, Kyoto (2013/12/27)

To be honest, I wasn’t exactly floored by the apparent thousands of temples and shrines within the city of Kyoto. There’s something about paying a fee to go and look at a building that doesn’t sit right with me. Or it could just be that I’m not a massive fan of the architecture in general, or that I live next door to a shrine. Either way, I’d much rather appreciate the beauty of a shrine I happen to come across on some random side-street, than be herded through  to take the same posed photos that millions of others before you have taken (then through the gift shop) for 500 yen.

Fushimi Inari was much nicer, in my view. It was free! And I was happy to spend more money on souvenirs and food while I was in the area, as opposed to how I resented being charged to look at temples on previous days, which led to my not wanting to buy anything. Which is to say, Fushimi Inari operates the way I think tourist spots should operate.

Anyway, this is the place with the hundreds of torii gates. There’s a decent number of paths you can wander around, and we were actually disappointed that we didn’t get to spend more than a couple of hours there.

I’m starting to think that unless a building contains some sort of educational aspect (like the museum inside Nagoya castle), I don’t have all that much interest in just looking at buildings. I have no desire to see the Eiffel Tower, I know that much. Maybe I prefer rivers and forests and the history of people, more than the artefacts themselves. And that’s OK.

2 thoughts on “Fushimi Inari, Kyoto (2013/12/27)

  1. Hey there, Sue here! Great blog. I actually think that temples and so on in Japan, art museums, etc, are really reasonably priced. The stuff in the States is awesome, but you pay 2-6 times the price you do here for some of the big attractions (museums in particular, and it depends on the museum of course). For special exhibitions, Australia is no cheaper, though, depending on the state, lots of the art galleries are free. I know the U.K. has a pretty comprehensive free policy, and that’s great! The really popular shrines and temples are great when caught on a cold desolate day with no-one else around, in the last hour before closing :-).
    Too, regarding your introduction, you’re a great photographer. Regarding your poll, if someone’s identifiable, I’d check with them first, though on my own blog, I did have some classroom pictures which I should have secured permission for before using. I used to keep a journal, but probably stopped about 8 years ago, and used to blog about travels a lot more on one of two blogs I’ve had, but I do it very little now. I get lazy with the writing because it’s so easily published. But did notice the other day how little I was remembering these events and places I’d gone to, even though aspects were really worth noting. Keep it up! Maybe I’ll be inspired to go back and work on my own event/travel stories.
    Comments are rare, so you got a lengthy one! Good luck.

Leave a Reply

